That’s what I love about Sunday

Ahhh. This weekend has been by far, the best weekend I have had since C. left three weeks ago. There is nothing I love more than relaxing and simply spending time with the people that mean the most to me.

This weekend I got to spend quality time with my mother, which is extremely rare. I wish it lasted longer, but I am so very thankful we had a few hours of uninterrupted bonding time at the mall. Actually, I presume “uninterrupted” was not exactly the best word to select. I had the best interruption! As we were walking into the mall, my phone rang. I quickly looked down at the screen to see the name I love the most

Airman Smith

Naturally my heart jumped up to my throat, my stomach dropped to my toes and my grin widened from ear to ear. Again, C. said he is doing very well and he is adjusting fine to his new life away from home. He informed me that this week had been much better than the previous week, it was obvious that the tension had leveled in their FLT since our last call. C. was much more at ease throughout our conversation. When he told me about all of the things that he had learned and that he passed his first inspection, I could almost hear the smile in his voice. Personally, I believe that for the first time in his life, C. is pushing himself to the limit, he is attempting to make something of himself and he is doing so on his own. His modest self pride is evident and I don’t think I could be much more proud of him than I am today (however, he has quite a way of keeping me on my toes.) I knew he did not have much longer on the phone, so I allowed my mom to speak with him for a minute. I believe that decision could have possibly made her entire year. I noticed that she was wearing a goofy smile that closely resembled the one that stretched across my face. It was the first time she had been able to speak with him since he left and it was obvious how proud of him that she is.
After we left the mall, my best friend decided to surprise me by coming into town for the night. It felt great to reminisce and get my mind off of everything.

Knowing that I have such an excellent support group by my side makes this entire process ten times easier. I am so blessed to have such amazing people in my life. Unfortunately the weekend is winding down – back to 9-5 grind bright and early. I am beyond excited to begin my bucket list this week. There are so many great things to look forward to I the near future!

39 days!

Until next time,

SM

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

